8/25/08 Day 1 – Mach 1

August 25, 2008 at 8:12 pm 1 comment

Day One!
Several months ago I heard of a new spinning wheel called the Mach 1, made by Spinolution in California(http://www.spinolution.com/Page_2.html) that seemed to combine all kinds of wonderful features that I’d been looking for, like huge bobbins and no orifice, with some new features like a rocker-style double treadle and toe brakes (brakes?) that were really intriguing.  The reviews were great, the price affordable, and so I thought, “I’ve got to have one” — and even more “I’ve got to become a dealer if these wheels are as great as people say they are!”  And so that is what I did!  The wheel comes unfinished or with a basic finish, but the sellers like dealers to get the unfinished one and have the experience of finishing themselves.   And so that is what I’ve been doing:

Here you see the partially-disassembled wheel drying from it’s second coat of tung oil.  When that was dry, I got out the artist paints and dolled it up a bit.  Those additions are still drying – you’ll have to wait for another day to see the final result!

I’m working on developing a line of spinning fibers with upcycled/recycled content, and today I spent part of the day dyeing roving to coordinate with a recyled add-in.  While I have a drum carder, I want to have several pounds of four different fibers to offer, and so I’m getting it all ready to send off to be blended and carded into roving.  I’m excited about the concept and the colors/blends that I’m putting together — I can’t wait to get it back, spin it up… oh wait, I haven’t even packed it up to ship yet! 

Entry filed under: HANDSPINNING, SHOP NEWS. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Daily Fiber Adventures with Wildhare!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eleanore  |  August 25, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    You have to visit my shop to understand what I’m about to say…. but I could almost hear St Francis saying, “Lord, thats alot of fiber beads” LOL…great blog. Wouldn’t have found you if it weren’t for the EtsyFAST team.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 157,051 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

