8/26/08 – Reclaiming Sorry Sari Yarn!

August 26, 2008 at 5:21 pm 2 comments

Here’s a bowl of fiber to meet your daily requirements:

What is it?  Worm spit.  Or, to put it more tastefully, it’s silk, reclaimed from sari weavers in Nepal.  I’m dismantling some yarn that I purchased several years ago that was spun directly from this silk waste.  I got it on ebay, and found that the skeins were tangled and hard to unwind, full of knots, and the yarn felt more like rope than anything you would associate with silk.  Also, the colors were so random that the yarn just didn’t do the fibers justice.  So… a few years later, I’m thinking about blending fibers, and decide to do something with the sorry sari yarn.  I cut the pieces in roughly 2 1/2 inch sections, then took each and untwisted it and pulled the yarn apart.  I’ve done 2.5 ounces worth, liberating the silk fibers from their bad yarn shackles, resulting in a lofty pile that looks like this:

Ooohhh sooo yummy.  And soft.  I’m going to blend it with wool and a touch of mohair and a bit of glitz, possibly slipping in a bit of dehaired llama cria fiber too.  (Would that make Sari-Llama yarn?).  I carded up a test batt:

Which looks pretty good, except I think I’ll need a higher ratio of the silk waste, and that the colors will “pop” better on a richer color base wool.  It feels really smooth and should spin up nicely, and I didn’t even put any of the llama in (llama fibers – if dehaired and from an animal with a nice fiber coat – are very smooth and silky with very little crimp, and the fleece I have is from a baby and very very soft.)  Recycled luxury.  I like.

Entry filed under: HANDSPINNING. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Daily Fiber Adventures with Wildhare! 8/27/08 – Assembling Mach 1

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. knittedgems  |  August 27, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    And I thought I was brave to unply thread from a skein of wool. But, this is incredible. I can’t imagine the patience required. Oh, how I would love to have a drum carder like yours. … That is how you made your top, right?

    Reply
  • 2. wildharedaily  |  August 27, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    My drum carder makes batts, which I can pull into roving. Top is combed, and contains only long fibers. Batts, and drum carders are great for blending small batches like this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

melissabighairscan

SpinQ2013roomview

spinquestlogosmall

More Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 154,509 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

