8/30/08 – “Can’t I make ANYTHING with Chain Crochet?”

August 31, 2008 at 10:35 pm 2 comments

My ten-year old daughter can chain crochet, and has been supplying everyone with bracelets and necklaces.  She hasn’t caught on to other stitches yet, but has been itching to make something more.  “Isn’t there ANYTHING I can make with chain crochet!” she implored.  “Can’t I make a bunch of long chains and connect them some way and maybe make a scarf?”  So she said – and I though, hey, why not?  I played around with the idea, and came up with this:

I changed colors every row (the yarn is Knitpicks “Palette”) and chained the fringe too.  I put it in the washing machine and attempted to felt it, but it didn’t change that much, just got fuzzier.  My daughter loved it, and wanted to claim it, but I my purpose in doing it was to get HER excited about making her own!  It took a while, but a few days ago she wanted to crochet, and I had a sample ball of a pretty space-dyed merino/silk yarn in “her” colors, and so with a bit of help from me, her own “Plain Chain” scarf is almost complete:

She’s a lefty… she doesn’t make her stitches the same way I do… but now she will soon have a scarf that she made herself! I’m encouraged that the fiber bug will bite!  Oh, and while we are on the subject of passing our love of fiber on to our children, I’d like to show off my thirteen-year old son’s first knitting:

Just a few rows in, and he’s already knitting steady!  I was so happy… and he learned in just a few minutes.  Of course, he was a captive audience at the time (hospital waiting room) and has since focused his attention back on mastering the art of chainmaille, but don’t you love a teen male who’s not afraid to knit!!  He saw a glimpse of the screen as I was uploading this picture, and said to make sure to mention that his name is William!

Entry filed under: crochet. Tags: , , , , .

8/29/08 – Melissa the Scarf! (Stockinette Edge Treatments) 8/31/08 Spinning with One Hand…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meri  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:37 am

    I wish I had known that I could do something with chain crochet when I was younger! That’s all I could do when I was a kid, and quickly gave up because making bookmarks and bracelets was boring. Those scarves look really neat!

    And that’s so cool that your son can knit! I keep trying to get my fiancé into fiber arts, but he just looks at me like I’m crazy. I’ll turn him onto it someday. 😉 Oh- and tell your son that it’s awesome that he can do chainmaille, too! That’s my latest addiction, and I think it’s great when I see other people make it- that means the artform will never die out. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tizi  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:54 am

    this is fantastic!
    My son is left handed too…i wonder if this will make a difference for knittimg! What great little creations!
    keep it going!
    tizi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 155,419 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

