Same Fiber Yarn Surprise (Trust Me!)

September 10, 2008 at 2:04 pm 2 comments

A ball of roving, some jars of dye, a spinning wheel … so many possible endings!  My last post showed some turquoise laceweight yarn that I spun from roving that I dyed.  Today, I’m going to talk about a different yarn that I spun that started with the very same roving, but with very different results.

As it came to me, the roving was white.  I dyed it up in four or five different batches, in different colors.  There was the turquoise, a plumy/pinky batch, one the colors of autumn leaves, and another that I did in chocolate and kiwi green.  Here are pictures of the roving drying outside:

St. Francis watches over the turquoise, while the other rovings play on the monkey bars. 

One of the batches I got particulary experimental with, resulting in roving that looks like this:

Some of the colors seem a bit odd together… it doesn’t make you go “yummy, gotta have it” when you first take a peak.  But sometimes with handpainted rovings, those little bits of incongruous colors create just the right touch of spice in the finished yarn.  I spun this roving one ply thick and thin, one ply “regular” medium thick, then wound the thick spots into loose coils when I plied it.  All those jumbled colors actually played nicely together in the finished yarn:

 

Below is a picture of some of the roving from that batch with the finished yarn.  See how those colors get blended and mingled when spun up together?  Handpainted roving does that — so a subtly-painted roving (like my turquoise from the previous post) will look almost like a solid, and bolder colored rovings will level out (some even become muddy, especially if the colors are primarily complementary pairs like red/green, orange/blue).  Here’s that picture:

So there you have it.  Two very different yarns from two different dye batches, but spun from the same fiber.  In the last post, 2 1/2 ounces spun into 460 yards of laceweight.  In this post, 2 1/2 ounces spun into 98 yards of novelty coil yarn.  Like I said at the beginning, so many possible endings!

Entry filed under: HANDSPINNING. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Finer Spinning September 11th

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bumpsnloops  |  September 28, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I like your yarn – a lot. I haven’t tried dying roving, yet. I’ve just dyed spun yarn. I’m so afraid I’m going to felt my roving. Chicken!

    Reply
  • 2. celena  |  July 2, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Gorgeous colors and yarn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 155,419 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

