ASJ – Progress Report

October 10, 2008 at 9:34 pm 5 comments

It’s been a week since I started on my Adult Surprise Jacket as part of a ravelry.com knit-along, and here is how it’s going so far:

I’m knitting on size 6US needles, at a gauge of 5 stitches/inch… which means I started by casting on 440 stitches!  I’m using Berroco Peruvia that I bought this summer at a clearance sale, along with a large mystery skein that was in my stash that is also a single-ply yarn of the same gauge.  I only had three colors of the Peruvia – taupe, light yellow-green and teal – and the silver-grey mystery yarn:

I could have made it with just these colors, but I really wanted to warm it up, and have a wider variety of autumn tones and shades that would go with more things.  So, I overdyed some of the skeins until I had this variety of colors:

I used Jacquard acid dyes, which are what I use when handpainting yarns or rovings, but to get a solid color the yarn is submerged in the hot dyebath, with the vinegar added after the yarn has absorbed the color evenly.  When overdyeing yarn, keep in mind the the dye color is going to act like a transparent veil over the orginial color of the yarn, so you are limited in what colors you can acheive.  Below are pictures showing the original color of the yarn on the bottom, with the new shades at the top:

The taupe was overdyed in chestnut (left) and salmon (right), creating a chocolate brown and a light rust.  The light yellow green overdyed in a weak salmon dyebath made olive (left), and in a turquoise dyebath, it became a truer green.  The silver was overdyed in navy, for a dark steel blue, and chestnut, or a warm gray.  The teal skeins were all left teal.

Acid dyes are easy to use on wool and other protein fibers, and when done correctly, the dye completely binds with the fiber or yarn and “exhausts” from the dyebath, leaving colored yarn and clear vinegar-water.  Thus, in a multicolored project like this, you don’t have to worry about the colors bleeding later when the garment is washed. So you can have all the colors you want!

Entry filed under: dyeing, knitting. Tags: , , , , , .

Now and… Forevermore Farm! It’s raw. It’s natural. Yes, it smells too

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Felicia  |  October 10, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Wow! Your ASJ is looking great – and your dyeing is fantastic!

    Reply
  • 2. lilymarlene  |  October 11, 2008 at 12:57 am

    Very informative. I have never tried this dyeing lark but I am beginning to be tempted….

    Reply
  • 3. Meri  |  October 11, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I love those colors! I’ve been meaning to start dyeing with acid dyes (I bought some a while ago) but haven’t tried yet. I’m still really in the practice stage, so I just dye with food coloring and cake icing dye. The colors you got are totally encouraging me to try the acid dyes, though!

    Reply
  • 4. knittedgems  |  October 13, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    This jacket is going to be stunning with the colors you chose/dyed. I always get bored when the colors are the same. This will keep things lively!

    BTW – I nominated you for an award on my blog.

    Reply
  • 5. essiewb  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I knew better than to come here. I’ve been toying with the idea of dying, and here it is in front of me, so hard to resist. I love how you’ve shown the before and afters on different colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 155,419 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

