Spin up the Crazy!

November 19, 2008 at 12:10 pm 10 comments

I’m crazy about yarn and fiber, and can’t bear to throw it away (cheap acrylic excluded from that ).  I even save the little scraps from sewing in ends, little tangled bits of fluff, what I clean off the drumcarder, etc.  I’m not the only one — in fact, these little scraps became the subject of a spin-along in the ravelry “Novelty & Art Yarn Spinners” group.  The group moderator, Studioloo (www.studioloo.com) made yarn from her collection of scraps, and coined the term “spin up the crazy” to describe it… thus inspiring a “spun up the crazy” spin-along.  Follow as I spin up my own collection of crazy:

Here’s a shot of some of my raw materials:

trashfiberbits

I have lots of yarn bits, some odds and ends of spinning fiber too little to do anything with on its own.  Some of the group members were spinning straight from their scrap box, but I decided to send my stuff through my drumcarder.  I first cut any strings down to a few inches so they wouldn’t get too tangled up on the carder drum, then tossed a mix of yarn bits and fiber on the tray and carded away:crazycarder

I made a stack of about six thin batts, which looked like this:

crazybatt

I wasn’t trying for a smooth consistent blend, I just wanted to get everything jumbled up and meshed together so I could spin it.  Here’s a close-up of this crazy batt:

crazybattclose

Batt complete, I went to my Mach 1 spinning wheel (www.spinolution.com), set it for the lowest ratio and started spinning.  The Mach 1 has an open hook instead of a orifice, so it can handle lumps and clumps of almost any size.  It uses guideposts on the flyer, so the yarn is less likely to get caught winding on.  And the bobbin holds eight ounces — perfect for making big clunky funky yarn like this!

I spun up my crazy, and wound it into a skein.  Soaked it to set the twist, and left it overnight hanging by a heating vent.  This morning it was ready — 3  1/2 ounces, 50 yards of some pretty crazy yarn:

crazyest

And that is how I spun up MY crazy.  Here are some close-up pictures so you can see the total random wildness of this yarn better:

crazyglob1crazycrazy

crazycolorscrazypilecrazyredsquigglecrazytangle

Entry filed under: HANDSPINNING. Tags: , , , , .

Fiber Festival – I did it! Published!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SillyLittleLady  |  November 19, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Wow! Just wow 🙂 I am so jealous, I cannot WAIT till I have enough space to get a spinning wheel and can do this, but alas, my wee drop spindle will have to do for now.

    Reply
  • 2. knittedgems  |  November 19, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Wow! It’s insane looking and yet so much fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Veronika  |  November 19, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    how fun! My scraps pile looked to neat to get really crazy, but next time I will probably include some leftover beads from past projects, as I intended to do this time. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. sjsmart  |  November 19, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Ok, now I feel horrible about throwing away my scraps. I frogged a mini sock that was about 1/2 way finished and just tossed the scraps. I’m a horrible crafter.

    Reply
  • 5. Babs Broussard  |  November 19, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    That is the coolest! I’m asking Santa for a drumcarder for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!

    Babs

    Reply
  • 6. nona of sav  |  November 19, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Came to check your blog via your posting on the Novelty & Art Yarn forum on Rav…awesome idea for sending the bits thru the carder…I’ve been afraid to try that, but I’m going to now! (Think I have the same carder as you!) I love your yarn…and all the close-ups are awesome 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your how-to…

    Reply
  • 7. Lori  |  November 20, 2008 at 9:18 am

    This is gorgeous! In the same way those scrap quilts are, with their crazy mix of leftover odds and ends. There is something about randomness that really gets me!

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah Skeen  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    This makes me want to learn how to spin! Fun!

    Reply
  • 9. HomeMadeOriginals  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:16 am

    What a great idea. I keep scraps too!

    Reply
  • 10. sipusa  |  March 28, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Yihaa!!! Now I know why I have started collecting scrap yarn:-D This is so inspiering:-D I have to do it when I go back to my spinning wheel after Easter holyday, thanks so much for sharing:-D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 157,051 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

