New Year – New Group!!

January 10, 2009 at 4:14 pm 10 comments

For a long time, I’ve been wishing for a knitting/fiber arts group in my town.  On ravelry.com, I’ve connected with several other people who expressed an interest.  Last week, I decided that with the New Year, one of my goals would be to stop waiting for “someone” to get something started, and take action!  So I picked a place, announced a date and time, and spread the word to people I thought might be interested (and – duh – this morning realized that I should have put it in my blog too!).  So today was the day, and here we are:knittingroup1-101That’s me standing the in back.  The other members  in attendance – most of whom I met on ravelry.com, are craftyashley, mamabeth, lamplighter777, and ontiptoe, and taking the picture, ontiptoe’s friend and new knitter, CB.  Oh, and I’m wildharefiber. 

lamplightersockWe met, chatted, worked on projects for a couple of hours.  Here are lamplighter777’s socks, which she is knitting up from some of her very first handspun (she claims she’s just been knitting a year – I am SO impressed!). 

Mamabeth and I both have etsy shops – she is beth1818 – here’s a link to her site: http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5787123 – it was nice to meet and talk shop!  Craftyashley is both a new knitter and a new mother, and brought her sweet, sleeping baby girl along.  Ontiptoe and I met online only to discover that her daughter and my son were in the same class at school and at the time, sat next to each other!  It’s the internet fun!

There were several other potential members who weren’t able to come this time, so we’re hopeful that the group will grow and florish.  If you’re near Front Royal Virginia and would like to join us, we’d love to welcome you!  Send me a message and I’ll add you to the list and let you know the time and place of our next meeting.

Entry filed under: knitting, OTHER FIBER FUN. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Treasuries Simply Batty!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HelenesDreams.etsy.com  |  January 10, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Thats wonderful that all of you are getting together to make beautiful things..and maybe beautiful friendships as well. Enjoy~

    Reply
  • 2. lamplghter777  |  January 10, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    What a blast! I had *such* a wonderful time and am so glad to meet you all! I felt like a kid in a candy store – okay, a 40-something-year old kid… Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for setting this up!

    Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  January 10, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Melissa that was so much fun!! I was practically bouncing off the walls I was so thrilled when I got home……hmm, maybe the coffee had a little to do with that 😉 I loved meeting everybody and seeing their projects. I’m looking forward to the next meeting and getting to know everybody better. Thanks so much for starting this group!!!

    Reply
  • 4. kim*  |  January 10, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    im so happy for you! how fun

    Reply
  • 5. Renee  |  January 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    What a great idea you had to start a group! It looks like you had a really good turnout. I bet it was a lot of fun, too.

    Reply
  • 6. Julie (Knitsational)  |  January 10, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    That sounds like so much fun!

    Reply
  • 7. sinje ollen  |  January 11, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Good for you and congrats on the initiative!

    Reply
  • 8. Ruth  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Thanks so much for getting the gumption and making it happen! C.J. and I really enjoyed the fime together and the way we hit it off with everyone on so many personal levels! Meant to be IMHO!
    Take care and have a great week! See you next time, if not before… now that I know where you live… LOL ; )
    Ruth

    Reply
  • 9. Ruth  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:05 am

    I just though of a possible name for our group… given the location.. and after the wonderful books of Debbie MacComber “The shop on MAIN street!” Maybe we can bring to reality our idea of actually having one in FR, noticing the shop down the street was for sale! Just the thought!

    Reply
  • 10. Joy  |  January 11, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Thank you so very much for welcoming my daughter to your group. It’s comforting to know that she found some like-minded and like-crafty friends. Happy New Year to all of you!

    I myself am busy crocheting soldiers’ caps for Denver Public Library’s Knitting For Our Troops project. My first one was finished a few hours ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 155,419 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

