Call it Puppy Love

February 1, 2009 at 2:35 pm 3 comments

Dogs, rabbits and sheep don’t always get along in real life, but I think they combined nicely in this yarn I’m calling “Puppy Love.”puppyloveskein

I blended together soft brown wool, angora rabbit that I had dyed pink, and white samoyed dog fur on  my drum carder.  I made rather thin batts and rolled them into rolags (to make one, start at the narrow end and roll up the length).  When spinning from a rolag, you work from the end, where the fibers are rolled around in a spiral.  This produced “woolen” spun yarn, know for being soft and lofty because the spiral arrangement of the fibers contains a lot of air.  So the yarn is extra soft and light!  More pictures:

pupploveclose puppylovestrands1

Both angora and wool are reputed to be several times warmer than wool, as well as exceptionally soft and fluffy.  I can believe it — my hands warm up just handling the skein!  This yarn will also develop a pronounced halo as it is knit and worn. 

A word on the dog hair: Samoyeds have a double coat, and the soft, fluffy underdown is desirable for spinning.  It is harvested in the spring by combing as the dog sheds its winter coat.  This samoyed fiber came from my friend Cynthia Mora, who breeds and shows her dogs (and pampers them like crazy!).  She bathes them so frequently that, ever before I washed it, the fiber didn’t smell at all like dog!  I’ve been very impressed with the yarn she has spun and the things she has made from samoyed, and was excited to experience this fiber for myself by creating this yarn!

Entry filed under: HANDSPINNING. Tags: , , , , , , , .

New Lambs – New Spring Dyeing This and That –

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SillyLittleLady  |  February 1, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I have a Samoyed too and I am brushing him almost everyday and always finding tufts of fur all over the place! I definitely plan to do some spinning with it 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jen  |  February 5, 2009 at 6:49 am

    So pretty! You probably gave the best description of woolen yarn I’ve ever read, I think I finally get it!

    Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  February 9, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    That’s beautiful Melissa!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

melissabighairscan

SpinQ2013roomview

spinquestlogosmall

More Photos

Other Posts

Blog Stats

  • 154,509 hits
Knitting Bloggers
Powered By Ringsurf Powered by WebRing.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.

